Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Content description VCCCG018

Civics and Citizenship / Levels 7 and 8 / Government and Democracy
Content description
Describe key features of government under the Australian Constitution, including the separation of powers, the Executive, the role of the Houses of Parliament, and the division of powers
  1. explaining the significance of the Magna Carta and evaluating its legacy in establishing the role of parliament and the separation of powers
  2. describing the purpose of the Australian Constitution
  3. investigating the concept of the separation of powers between the legislature, executive and judiciary and how it seeks to prevent the excessive concentration of power
  4. describing the role of the Governor-General and the different roles of the House of Representatives and the Senate
  5. describing the difference between the Governor General as executive government in the constitution and Prime Minister and Cabinet as executive government under the Westminster system
  6. investigating the division of powers between state/territory and federal levels of government using an issue such as water management, education or health
  7. explaining the roles of the Senate and the House of Representatives as outlined in the Australian constitution
Curriculum resources and support
Find related teaching and learning resources in FUSE*
Find related curriculum resources on the VCAA resources site
*Disclaimer about use of these sites

Go to Civics and Citizenship curriculum

Scroll to the top of the page