Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Content description VCJAU012

Japanese: 7–10 Sequence / Levels 7 and 8 / Understanding / Systems of language
Content description
Recognise and use features of the Japanese sound system, including pitch, accent, rhythm and intonation
  1. understanding the system of Japanese sound combinations, that Japanese has five vowels and that a vowel can be attached to all consonants except ‘
  2. accurately pronouncing all combinations of hiragana and katakana, including voiced and unvoiced forms and all combined sounds (contractions and blends)
  3. understanding that the sounds of hiragana and katakana are identical even though the associated scripts are different
  4. recognising that in the copula desu and the verb suffix masu, the ‘u’ is devoiced in normal speech
  5. using available combinations of katakana to experiment with the Japanese pronunciation of loan words, for example, レストラン
  6. recognising the basic unit of sound in Japanese (‘mora’: モーラ or ), for example, こんにちは has five moras
  7. becoming familiar with the rhythm of Japanese, recognising the concept of the ‘foot’ (フット) as the minimum unit of rhythm, and that one foot in Japanese consists of two moras, for example, ごちそうさま is pronounced as a three-foot word
Curriculum resources and support
Find related teaching and learning resources in FUSE*
Find related curriculum resources on the VCAA resources site
*Disclaimer about use of these sites

Go to Japanese curriculum

Scroll to the top of the page