Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Content description VCJAU138

Japanese: F–10 Sequence / Levels 3 and 4 / Understanding / Systems of language
Content description
Understand that hiragana symbols can be combined to represent words
  1. recognising that there are 19 distinct consonants in Japanese (k, g, s, sh, z, j, t, ch, ts, d, n, h, f, b, p, m, y, r, w) and five vowels (a, i, u, e, o)
  2. understanding the system of basic Japanese sound combinations, that is, a vowel can be attached to most consonants to produce a kana
  3. understanding that vowel length can differentiate words in Japanese, for example, ‘e’ () for a picture and ‘ee’ (ええ) for ‘yeah’
  4. recognising the concept of the minimum unit of rhythm in Japanese (‘foot’ or フット) and that one foot in Japanese consists of two moras, for example, ごちそうさま is pronounced as a three-foot word ごち・そう・さま
  5. demonstrating understanding of the differences in pronunciation of English and Japanese versions of loan words such as バナナ、ペット、サッカー
Curriculum resources and support
Find related teaching and learning resources in FUSE*
Find related curriculum resources on the VCAA resources site
*Disclaimer about use of these sites

Go to Japanese curriculum

Scroll to the top of the page