Skip to main content Skip to navigation
Print this page


Sequences of learning

The Auslan curriculum takes account of different entry points into language learning across F–10, which reflects current practice in language teaching.

There are two possible learning sequences:

  • F–10 sequence for students who begin to learn the language in primary school and continue to Year 10.
  • 7–10 sequence for students who begin to learn the language in Year 7.


For Auslan, pathways are provided for two learner groups: First Language Learners, and Second Language Learners. 

  • First Language Learner (F–10 sequence)

These are native signing students from Deaf families who have fluent language models to interact with at home and have been exposed to the language since birth; or are deaf students from hearing families with parents or older relatives who have learned to sign and exposed their children early to rich signing models, such as in bilingual preschools; or are deaf students who arrive in a signing program in their first few years of schooling.

  • First Language Learner (7–10 sequence)

These are students who arrive at high school with a very limited knowledge of English, and little, if any, Auslan and hence are learning their first language well beyond the age of typical language development.

  • Second Language Learner 

These are students learning Auslan as a second or additional language. This will typically be hearing students but may include hard of hearing or deaf students who already have an established first language. These students are being introduced to Auslan for the first time as an additional language.

Schools will make decisions about which pathway best serves their students’ needs, and teachers will use the pathways to cater for students by making any appropriate adjustments to differentiate their learning experiences

Strands and Sub-strands

The content descriptions of the Languages curriculum F–10 are organised through two interrelated strands. The two strands are Communicating and Understanding. Each strand contains several sub-strands.

Using language for communicative purposes in interpreting, creating and exchanging meaning.Analysing and understanding language and culture as resources for interpreting and shaping meaning in intercultural exchange.

Interacting to exchange ideas, opinions, experiences, thoughts and feelings; and participating in planning, negotiating, deciding and taking action

Systems of language
Understanding the language system, including visual-gestural language parameters, conventions, and grammar

Obtaining, processing, interpreting and conveying information through a range of Auslan texts; developing and applying knowledge

Language variation and change
Understanding how language use varies according to individual difference and context and across time and place

Engaging with imaginative experience by participating in, responding to and creating a range of texts, such as stories, poetry, art and performance

Language Awareness

Analysing and understanding language and culture over time, including language attitudes, language policy, language rights, international contexts and language vitality

Moving between languages and cultures, understanding that words and signs do not always have direct equivalence and recognising different interpretations and explaining these to others

The role of language and culture
Analysing and understanding the role of language and culture in the exchange of meaning.


Exploring and expressing their sense of identity as individuals and as members of the Deaf community and culture and as deaf, hard of hearing or hearing people


Participating in intercultural exchange, questioning reactions and assumptions; and considering how interaction shapes communication and identity


Achievement standards

In Auslan, students progress along a curriculum continuum. The learning sequence undertaken by students will determine the number and progression of achievement standards:

  • F–10 Sequence - the first achievement standard is provided at Foundation–Level 2 and then at Levels 4, 6, 8 and 10.
  • 7–10 Sequence - the first achievement standard is provided at Level 8 and then at Level 10.
Scroll to the top of the page