Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Curriculum Design

Print this page

Standards and levels

The Victorian Curriculum F–10 is structured as a continuum across levels of learning achievement not years of schooling. This enables the development of targeted learning programs for all students, where the curriculum is used to plan in relation to the actual learning level of each student rather than their assumed level of learning based on age.

Each curriculum area includes content descriptions explaining what is to be taught and achievement standards describing what students are able to understand and do. The achievement standards are provided in 11 levels for English and Mathematics or in five or six bands for all the other learning areas and capabilities.

Further information on the placement of the achievement standards is available:

The achievement standards reflect the emphasis within the broad stages of schooling, these being:

  • Foundation stage (Years Prep–2)

The focus is on the five curriculum areas of English, Mathematics, The Arts, Health and Physical Education, and Personal and Social capability. These areas all have a standard at Foundation. In the early years of schooling, schools may choose to structure teaching and learning programs around the five outcomes of the Victorian Early Years Learning and Development Framework (VEYLDF). Further information on VEYLDF is available here.

  • Breadth stage (Years 3–8)

Students have the opportunity to fully engage with all learning areas and capabilities, with a focus on English, Mathematics, Science.

  • Pathways stage (Years 9–10)

Students engage in a broad education and begin to plan their senior secondary program of study.

Scroll to the top of the page